cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 10

How to connect ASUS RT AC68U Router to BT Infinity

Just had BT infinity installed at my home in UK, but I have a ASUS RT-AC68U Dual Band Router whcih I used to use in Australia.

Can someone please explain exactly how I can re use this great bit of ASUS kit with BT Infinity KIT

I am not technical so will need very basic instruction if I am to get this right.

thanks in advance

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Expert
Message 2 of 10

Re: How to connect ASUS RT AC68U Router to BT Infinity

Hi

Do you have an openreach modem ? If so it should be just a case of pluging the wire from the modem into the asus wan port.

Then  entering your bt username  into the asus internet settings.

Found a picture on another thread ...... 1000 words ect :))

https://community.bt.com/t5/BT-Infinity-Speed-Connection/Asus-rt-ac68u-FTTC-MTU-settings-purchased-f...

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 10

The Asus is a router and does not have a VDSL modem built in so you would need to buy an Openreach modem for about £20 from an auction site. Once you have that remove the Homehub from the phone socket and connect the modem to your phone socket, just as the Homehub was connected and then connect the Asus to the modem via the WAN port.

You will need to set it up via the router management page. there will be a set up guide with the router or you can find it online

You will then need to set it up with a PPPoE connection. The username is btinternet@btbroadband.com A password is not needed but the router may require one so just enter BT or anything else you want.

Highlighted
Beginner
Message 4 of 10

thanks , its been a long time since I posted. I will buy an open reach modem and see howI get on.

can I ask, Why the Help 4 Heroes logo?

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 5 of 10