Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
smf22
Recognised Expert
Message 21 of 196

Re: Hub 6 wireless now unuseable

Go to solution
John46. From reading it would seem people are saying they've been opted out, but it's suddenly become active anyway.

The fact BT WiFi has has been inactive on Smart Hub might make some believe that BT felt or knew they had a problem with it. Perhaps they still do??
0 Ratings
john46
Distinguished Sage
Message 22 of 196

Go to solution
It is not unusual for BT Wi-Fi to reactivate when a firmware change happens as the service is set on by default as it is part of the BT contract
0 Ratings
smf22
Recognised Expert
Message 23 of 196

Go to solution

If that's the case then BT are failing from a contractual, technical and service management perspective.

- I'm not a lawyer, but the way I would see this is that if a user opts out of BT WiFi then "the BT contract" has been amended. For BT to then opt that user back in to BT WiFi without informing them would seem to me to be a breach of contract.

- BT WiFi is enabled and disabled by configuration of the BT Hub, not by the firmware image it is using. If it becomes enabled when a new firmware version is downloaded this would indicate BT are making configuration changes to the Hub at the same time. That's not necessarily unexpected, there are very likely changes that go with a new firmware version, but clearly BT do not push a 'default' configuration. Therefore we must conclude that they are making changes to the configuration that controls BT WiFi, and this is either a conscious decision or a service management failing.