Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ellemcee
Beginner
Message 1 of 19

Hub internet light goes out/connection drops and some slow speed problems

Hi Folks,

I would appreciate it if you have any thoughts on this one please.

Since the end of December I have been having a few internet problems with very slow page loads, and ocassionally when I look at the Hub the internet light has gone out (maybe for about 5-10 secs) then flickers back into life. The Broadband and wireless lights are still on. At first I thought it was a speed problem, but then my BT Vision was still working, so that didn't really add up.

I reset my Home Hub a few times after which everything seemed fine for a few page loads and then page loading slowed right down again. After reading a few other posts on here, I've stopped restarting my Hub and it's been on since Thursday eve and I've just done a speed test (below) - which *seems* OK, but them I'm no expert!

It was all going well, but the internet light has just gone out again - although obviously OK now! Do you think it's a fault with the Hub? I do have an original white one (think it might even be version 1.0 eek!!).

Just to add in more variables - I did notice on the 30th December that I had no dialling tone on the landline. My phone had been playing up so I put it down to that, as when I went out to purchase a cheap corded phone to test it, it was fine later that day, but maybe that was a coincidence and there had been a problem but it had just been fixed?

Oh I should maybe also mention that I only have one phone socket, no extensions.

Any thoughts gratefully received.....

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.

Download  Speed           12324 Kbps

0 Kbps  21000 Kbps Max Achievable Speed

Download speed achieved during the test was - 12324 Kbps

For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4000-21000 Kbps.

Additional Information: