Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Worther_1
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

Huge Broadband speed drop after repair

Hi all,

I'm really new to this as I've been lucky with fast broadband for years, however thats all changed now!

Recently had problem with phone side of the line, and to cut a long story short the BT Engineer fitted a new cable from the outside junction box on wall of property to the 'master socket'.  I have always used internet through the only other socket inthe house upstairs, and connect directly with ethernet cables.

Since this repair earlier today thge phone is perfect, I ran the 17070 quiet test as recommended on a previous post and there was no noise.  However interent is very very slow.  I've tried resetting router a couple of times, I've disconnected and reconnected all the cables.  I've rebooted PC (win8).  I've run diagnostic as suggested on a previous post, see details below:

The internet feels like dial up speed.

Anybody got any ideas?

I live one mile from exchange and used to get 2Mbps (?) but is was fast.  Will it get faster with time?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

ADSL Line Status

Connection information
Line state:Connected
Connection time:0 day, 00:17:36
Downstream:283 Kbps
Upstream:888 Kbps

ADSL settings
VPI/VCI:0/38
Type:PPPoA
Modulation:G.992.5 Annex A
Latency type:Interleaved
Noise margin (Down/Up):30.8 dB / 14.8 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up):16.5 dB / 8.0 dB
Output power (Down/Up):0.0 dBm / 12.4 dBm
FEC Events (Down/Up):0 / 0
CRC Events (Down/Up):0 / 0

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
john46
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 8

Re: Huge Broadband speed drop after repair

Due to all the disconnections / restarts of your hub you are now in a banded profile you need to maintain a stable connection for 3/5 days and you will start to lift out of the banding automatically
0 Ratings
john46
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 8

it is vital that you stop restarting the hub as thats making things worse