cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Coupe388
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 24

Infinity 2 - New user - Slow speeds

I've had Ifinity 2 for the requisite 10 days and my speeds are not much better than my previous BT ASDL and a lot more inconsistent. The highest I have recorded is 34.48 down and 13.11 up. The lowest is 12.5 down / 13.1 up. It averages 25sown with a consistent upload of 13.

My tests have been on ethernet connection. Openreach engineer installation.

Wireless records similar speeds, no better or worse and it makes no difference if I am placed directly in front of the Home Hub 5.

I was told to expect 55-73 download.

I was recording a consistent 14.5 download on ASDL - wireless.

I wasn't expecting to have to trace my own "faults" but after the very lengthy chat session that was pretty much what was suggested as the adviser did not seem to think that my speeds were an issue. I am not a technical engineer, merely a customer who wants the minimum of fuss and a service that was promised and is being paid for.

Where do I go next? I have foolishly signed for an 18 month contract.

0 Ratings
23 REPLIES 23
john46
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 24

Re: Infinity 2 - New user - Slow speeds

Can you run this checker and post back a screen shot of the results

http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

and use this speed tester then carry out the further diagnostics and post back a screen shot of all the results including your IP profile for up and down. This test must be done with a wired connection.

http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/

if you have a Homehub 5 can you also post the stats from 1-12 by logging onto the homehub management pages then troubleshooting > helpdesk. http://bthomehub.home/
0 Ratings
Coupe388
Aspiring Contributor
Message 3 of 24

Thanks for the reply.