cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Warbler
Beginner
Message 1 of 3

Infinity Hub causing physical headaches? - UPDATE

Thank you for your suggestions, comments and humour.

I am no IT expert and therefore my approach and understanding are in question, but I believe that I have discovered the following;

a)  The BT hub is partitioned and although the local wireless function can be turned off a global in built wireless cannot.  Even using the advanced settings the global wireless remains live, perhaps to support the coverage of Open Zone.  So even if I turn off the wireless functionality to my remote laptop wave emissions would possibly continue to upset me.

b)  To overcome a) I have installed a Zyxel NBG4604 Wireless Managed Router.  I chose this as it conforms to the European wave emissions standard, which is at a lower level to that accepted in the UK.  The additional benefits are that the wireless strength can be reduced and also programmed to switch on or off for certain periods of the day.  As it happens the laptop connection to an upstairs room has been achieved using only 10% of the available wireless power.

2 REPLIES 2
dcullum
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 3

Re: Infinity Hub causing physical headaches? - UPDATE

Following on from your previous thread, I'm interested to know if this helps you?

If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
0 Ratings
PC
Recognised Expert
Message 3 of 3

Re: Infinity Hub causing physical headaches? - UPDATE

@Warbler wrote:

Thank you for your suggestions, comments and humour.

I am no IT expert and therefore my approach and understanding are in question, but I believe that I have discovered the following;