Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
yoanJ
Contributor
Message 1 of 13

Infinity when it rains, or lack of!

Hi, 

I've had 80k infinity for just over 12 months, After initial issues in the street cabinet and a new master socket being fitted everythings been running smoothly with good upload speeds. OPne day last week I was attending on an online meeting (I work from home) and noted the line dropped, when I checked the HH5 it was reconnecting (orange flashing and then blue). I noted that it had just started raining so put 2 and 2 together. I had previously noted slow speeds in rainy periods, my usual connection on the router showing as >72k down and 19.999k up during dry periods, this time it had reconnected at less that 60k down and 15k up.

I called BT 150 and reported my finings that I suspected it was a cable fault (I'm an engineer by trade), the opperator asked by to reset the HH5 by using a paperclip on the switch at the back although I asked if I could not due to my home network routing setup. In the end I relented and reset the router (wiping out all the previous logs). After a reboot the router conencted at an even lower speed. Operator then decided to arrrange an engineer call the following day between 3 & 6pm.

At 9:30 kevin turned up with an old handset, his iPad and a scrap bit of paper. He connected his handset to my line to then exclaim the phone line is OK. Which I confirmed it was but the issue was speed related when it rained. He connected to my router via wifi and run some diagnostics and confirmed my speed was below the advertised speed and he would report back tot he office that the issue was line related.

Since then I have been promised 2 fix dates and just had a call with a rather rude operator on 150 saying I will have to phone back when the issue happening to investigate and it will be fixed when its fixed.

For everyones information the HH5 is connected directly into the master socket.

0 Ratings