cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 4

Intermittent Faults

I have intermittent WiFi drop outs on my Smart Hub that have been going on for a while now. I've been using a Tenda Nova mesh system now for a couple of years, but the issue is exactly the same. I've disabled the WiFi on the hub, and connection is far better, especially in the upstairs bedrooms, but the drop outs still occur. I haven't bothered contacting BT for a while as the drop outs only last a few seconds, then it comes back. Last night however, I lost internet connection completely. I rebooted the hub but the lights were flashing purple (I think it's purple but can't be sure as I'm colour blind). After an hour or so it finally rebooted and has been fine ever since, with a solid blue light. 

Other than powering off/on I haven't altered any settings. This is one of the reasons I don't contact support as they always suggest changing settings etc when it always corrects itself without touching a thing. I have an unused Smart Hub that was sent to me a couple of years ago, after having similar problems that BT weren't able to rectify, and I'm wondering if it's worth trying that or asking BT to send out an engineer to check the line etc?

0 Ratings
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4

Re: Intermittent Faults

@kinetic747 

Assuming you are still on an ADSL connection, is there any noise on your phone line? Dial 17070 and select option 2 (Quiet line test), and see if you can hear any cracking noise.

Here is a suggestion which I have found seems to fix my occasional ADSL connection issue.

Within the exchange, the broadband signal is routed through a number of mechanical relay contacts, including the Line Test System (LTS), the Line Card, and the Test and Monitoring System (TAMS).

These tend to give poor contact resistance if they are not operated for a while, and this caused low or intermittent ADSL connection issues.