Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mostly_human
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 11

Intermittent email password problem

Good day,

My girlfriend has been using her btinternet email account for a few years without issue, but about a month ago she started getting intermittent login failures to her BT Yahoo email account; Outlook pops-up the "request network password" and Thunderbird pops-up a message about the name or password being invalid. There are no error codes. However, if she uses a browser; Firefox or Internet Explorer, there is never a problem (so we know the password is correct), but if she uses an email client like Outlook or Thunderbird then increasingly, the client is unable to retrieve emails for several hours and usually whilst she is doing something else like using Excel, the emails suddenly burst into life. I work in IT as a Unix sysadmin so know my way around this basic stuff (or so I thought) but I cannot figure out what is going wrong here. We have just spent 5 hours talking to four different Indians who do not seem to understand the problem and certainly have not been able to help. Strangely enough, if we login using a browser then invariably the email clients start working, albeit for an hour or so. We have access to two computers:

Desktop running Windows XP and using Outlook 2003.

Laptop running Windows 7 and using Thunderbird.

If I use her laptop from my home then the issue is still there, which eliimates anything on her hub. If I add her email account settings to Thunderbird on my Mac I get the same issue; sometimes I can retrieve her mail, sometime I cannot.