Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
prushby
Beginner
Message 1 of 3

JustCloud, BT Net Protect (Macafee) and the TROJAN

Hi,

This is my first post, I have Infinity 1 and took advantage of the free MacaFee BT protect nearly a year ago.

I've been using a cloud storage supplier called JustCloud for about 5 years.  I have around 175Gb of photo's / vidoes stored and I pay a yearly subscription for this unlimited service.  It suits my needs as there are various apps for mobile devices, I have an ipad and two Iphones using the service as well as my desktop PC.

A couple of days ago, the BT Net Protect flagged that it had found a trojan on my system, and it had removed it.. Good i thought.  then a day later I wanted to back up some photo's to JustCloud as I have been doing from my desktop for the past 5 years.. The JustCloud program had gone.  I then attempted to download it again but BT Net Protect immediately quaranteens the '.exe' and I am unable to install.

Below is the response from the JustCloud ticket I raised.

'Hi Paul,

Thank you for your email

We are sorry for the difficulties you have been experiencing due to McAfee flagging the Just Cloud application and preventing backups to run normally.

I fully understand it is disconcerting to see Just Cloud be classed as a threat to your computer, however we want to make it clear that the antivirus programs are not blocking us due to the app being deemed as malicious or a virus, they are classing Just Cloud as a Potentially Unwanted Program. This means some users have reported they don’t remember installing Just Cloud or don’t know how it ended up on their computer.

We are in communication with McAfee to try and resolve this situation, but as it stands they are intentionally blocking Just Cloud. I apologize for any inconvenience caused but hope this covers the situation clearly.