Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
WatchdogTS
Aspiring Expert
Message 1 of 39

Master socket fail.

Go to solution

Unbelievable but true, my BB connection was non existant this afternoon so I rang BT tech support India who advised me to unscrew the lower half of the master socket. Then I plugged the filter directly into the socket behind the face plate and as you can see, I am back online. Smiley Surprised The connection speed is not brilliant but it works.

I now have to leave the face plate hanging out of the wall if I want BB to work. The TS guy told me to buy a new socket, does he think I am a DIY engineer? Anyway I could fit a socket no bother if BT wants to send me one.

The question is, will BT send me a new fangled socket, one with the filter built in, or will I have to book an engineer? 

0 Ratings
38 REPLIES 38
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 39

Re: Master socket fail.

Go to solution

That is a simple job. BT will not pay as its on your side of the master socket.

Instructions are on this website.

Improve your ADSL broadband connection speed

Look under Installing an adsl filtered NTE5 Faceplate

for a temporary fix to keep the phones working see.

Temporary fix for test socket connection, to keep phones working

0 Ratings
WatchdogTS
Aspiring Expert
Message 3 of 39

Go to solution
My original master socket worked for more than 10 years and was in good working order until BT changed it for this one which has barely lasted 6 months. How is that "my side" BT supplied the duff socket, I am amazed that I am expected to replace it.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 39

Go to solution

Do you have any extensions connected to the master socket, when the cover is replaced? ie, are there wires connected to the back of the removable part?

0 Ratings
WatchdogTS
Aspiring Expert
Message 5 of 39

Go to solution

Yes, there are 9 wires connected to the back of the removable part. 3 extensions.

0 Ratings