cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
1,058 Views
Message 1 of 10

Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution

Hi,

 

I've been directed here by the forums at kitz.co.uk as a last-ditch attempt to get my long-running connectivity issues resolved. Here's my post to their site word-for-word:

 

I’m sorry for this long post but hopefully it will make sense and someone will be able to tell me what I need to do to get my broadband working properly…

I moved to Infinity2 in February this year and I have had nothing but problems with dropped connections. Now, after a Specialist Faults Investigator visit last Monday things are no better and BT say there is no fault on my line and are refusing to investigate any further.

After Infinity2 went live it lasted 1 week before I experienced continual line drops. An Openreach Broadband engineer duly came and found that the copper from the manhole into my house had degraded. We couldn’t even find where the cable came in so he drilled a hole in the wall and ran a new cable via our neighbour’s conduit out to the manhole directly outside our house, terminating with an MK3 faceplate. All of his tests came back good – as I remember the AC Balance was around 70dB and we were getting 50Mbps Down and 10Mbps Up. Phew…

That lasted for another week before more drops started. Back came Openreach and they detected a fault in the copper in the road – he had to do some work at a manhole one up from ours.

All fine then for a few months then more drops. Openreach found a fault “in the link between the cabs”. We’re connected to a Huawei but I can’t remember which model.

Now I get a bit hazy - sorry… At the beginning of October more line drops – worse than ever. BT tested the line and diagnosed a fault which they rectified. That lasted a few days. I spent hours on the phone to India and the UK, including raising a Complaint with Retentions. Eventually they sent a Line Engineer – as India heard me mention “noise margin” and thought I had a noisy line (which I didn’t). So he apologised and went away. BT then REFUSED to accept there was an issue and refused to send an engineer. More fighting later they agreed to send a Broadband Engineer – the guy in India couldn’t even do an SNR Reset due to the problem being so bad. The engineer tested the line and found no issue and said I needed an SFI as his equipment was better than his and that they would stay until the problem was resolved – regular Broadband guys only has 30 minutes per job…

However, after he’s shoved his 150V down the line things fell into a pattern. The line would drop and it would sync with a dreadfully low Upstream SNR giving me under 1Mbps Up (but still 50Mbps Down). I then noticed that if I received a call the line would drop and it would sync at my normal levels. I could replicate this easily so, harrah, I thought, a good old-fashioned high-resistance problem that the SFI would be able to trace in no time. I printed out some graphs to show him.

So, last Monday the SFI arrived. Despite my evidence he couldn’t find any fault so did a Lift & Shift – he said he may as well as “you’ve had everything else done”. At last, I had a nice flat line on my graphs (via the excellent RouterStatsHub 5A). That lasted until Thursday at 09.00. The Up SNR started to tail off and then I was hit by losses on connection every few minutes. And that’s where I am now. I’ve re-opened my complaint but India say that there’s no fault on the line and won’t send an engineer.

Here’s what I’ve tried:
2 x HomeHub5 Type A
(Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.204.1.11 (Type A) Last updated 23/10/16)
3 x HomeHub PSUs
Armoured ADSL cable
2 x Std BT-supplied ADSL cable
REIN & SHINE test – checked with neighbours that they haven’t anything that would interfere (Hub within 1 metre of connecting wall)
2 x DECT phones
1 x Std phone
No internal extensions
Wireless doorbell disconnected (433.92Mhz so shouldn’t interfere)
BT-supplied line filter straight into Test Socket to bypass MK3 faceplate
No PSUs within 2 metres of hub

Here’s what my HomeHub reports at the moment:

1. Product name:   BT Home Hub
2. Serial number:   +068342+NQ54302561
3. Firmware version:   Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.204.1.11 (Type A) Last updated 23/10/16
4. Board version:   BT Hub 5A
5. DSL uptime:   0 days, 06:40:17
6. Data rate:   834 / 54995
7. Maximum data rate:   953 / 65134
8. Noise margin:   10.8 / 9.6
9. Line attenuation:   21.1 / 19.1
10. Signal attenuation:   6.1 / 19.1

The graph for the Upstream SNR isn’t a nice flat line – it’s wavering continually. As you can see the Data Rate is fine Down but appalling Up.
We are 0.5 Km from the cabs by road, according to Broadband Availability Checker.
I’m about to replace the HomeHub with a TP-Link TD-W9980 as this is about the last thing I can think of but I can’t see that it’s going to help unless the chipset is more forgiving of a dirty connection

I’m a Field Engineer based at home working for the NHS. I rely on my broadband for VPN connections and we have an EE Fentocell for mobile signal as our mobile coverage is pants so I simply can’t do my job properly under these circumstances. And I’m getting in to hot water as I keep having to take time out to meet engineers…

If anyone can shed any light on this I would be eternally grateful.

Cheers
Irvin

 

Subsequent to this I have set up the TP-Link router 2 hours ago and I've had one line drop since. Here's the current stats:

Upstream DownstreamCurrent Rate (Kbps)Max Rate (Kbps)SNR Margin (dB)Line Attenuation (dB)Errors(Pkts)

Current Rate       8496 54996
Max Rate          12439 63465
SNR Margin          8.2 5.9
Line Attenuation  22.6 18.7
Errors (Pkts)      1812

709

 

Downstream SNR Margin is fluctuating between 11 and 3 ish - I'm afraid that this router doesn't provide much ion the way of stats. I have been able to get these via Telnet:

 

[1,0,0,0,0,0]0
enable=1
status=Up
modulationType=VDSL2
X_TPLINK_CurrSupportLinkType=2
lineEncoding=
allowedProfiles=
currentProfile=
dataPath=
interleaveDepth=0
lineNumber=0
upstreamCurrRate=8496
downstreamCurrRate=54996
upstreamMaxRate=14600
downstreamMaxRate=62864
upstreamNoiseMargin=80
downstreamNoiseMargin=58
upstreamAttenuation=226
downstreamAttenuation=187
upstreamPower=140
downstreamPower=77
ATURVendor=
ATURCountry=
ATUCVendor=
ATUCCountry=
totalStart=6012
showtimeStart=242
quarterHourStart=0
X_TPLINK_Bitswap=On
X_TPLINK_SRA=On
X_TPLINK_AdslModulationCfg=Multimode
X_TPLINK_AnnexType=Annex A/B/L/M
X_TPLINK_SupportAdslMode=VDSL2:A,B,A/B;T1.413:A;G.dmt:A;ADSL2:A,A/L/M;ADSL2+:A,M,A/L/M;Auto Sync-up:A/B/L/M
X_TPLINK_PtmMainIfName=ptm0

 

As India refuse to do anything more you guys are my last hope. Please also see Complaint VL013-*********

 

Many Thanks

 

Adrian

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Beginner
1,057 Views
Message 2 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution

I'm now recommissioning my HH5A as the TP-Link hasn't helped - see below:

 

    
     
52016-11-12 12:37:50DSLNoticexDSL Enter Showtime!!
62016-11-12 12:37:49DSLNoticexDSL Leave Showtime!!
72016-11-12 12:35:49DSLNoticexDSL Enter Showtime!!
82016-11-12 12:35:47DSLNoticexDSL Leave Showtime!!
92016-11-12 12:35:45DSLNoticexDSL Enter Showtime!!
102016-11-12 12:35:43DSLNoticexDSL Leave Showtime!!
112016-11-12 12:34:58DSLNoticexDSL Enter Showtime!!
122016-11-12 12:34:56DSLNoticexDSL Leave Showtime!!
132016-11-12 12:32:09DSLNoticexDSL Enter Showtime!!
142016-11-12 12:32:08DSLNoticexDSL Leave Showtime!!
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
1,038 Views
Message 3 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution

Hi @AdesTheShades,

 

Welcome to the community forum and thank you for posting.

 

I'm sorry you are experiencing problems with your connection. I'll be able to take a look at your connection and run a few checks on your line. Please can you send me in your details using the "Contact The Mods" link found in my profile?

 

Thanks

 

PaddyB

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
1,013 Views
Message 4 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution
The helpdesks cannot carry out any changes on infinity unlike ADSL Infinity can only have any changes made by an Openreach engineer if a line fault is found
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Beginner
1,004 Views
Message 5 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution

I've just had a very long call from India in response to my complaint. I'm gettin g yet another Broadband Engineer visit on Tuesday p.m. - not an SFI though. So I have a horrible feeling that they won't find anything wrong, shrug their shoulders and I'll have waited another afternoon....

 

Hopefully the Moderators will be able to shed some light on what the problem is and get back to me so I can point the guy in the right direction.....

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
994 Views
Message 6 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution

Only an engineer on site can diagnose the problem, the mods can only organise the visit.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
992 Views
Message 7 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution
If three engineers can't identify a fault then it'll be difficult if not impossible for the mods to identify a fault. When I say identify I mean find out the exact issue, it's quite clear something isn't right but there can't be much of the network left to check/change.
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Beginner
981 Views
Message 8 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution

Thanks guys,

 

I appreciate that. But with their experience and the information that I've been able to provide maybe they will have a hunch. The engineers who've visited haven't shown much interest in any of the evidence I have...

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Recognised Expert
942 Views
Message 9 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution
No difference between a broadband engineer and an sfi engineer. That nonsense about getting half hour for the job is just that, nonsense.
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
867 Views
Message 10 of 10

Re: Message for Moderators - Infinity 2 line faults since installation in February 2016

Go to solution

Hi @AdesTheShades,

 

Thanks for taking my call today. I'm delighted we were able to get this sorted for you at last. The smart hub is on the way so can you let me know when you receive it?

 

Cheers

 

David

0 Ratings