cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
robert1997
Aspiring Expert
Message 1 of 9

Mixing old and new adapters

I already have 2 of the white (PG902) Comtrend powerline adapters. If I were to upgrade to Youview would I be correct to assume that the adapters used now are of a different type? If so, can they be paired (matched) with the Adapters I own now so I can add them to the existing setup?

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
bayview
Beginner
Message 2 of 9

Re: Mixing old and new adapters

Hi

I too would like to know an answer to this. Prior to getting BT Vision, I had been using 85Mbps powerline adapters in the house for a few years and had hoped they'd play nicely with the 200Mbps HP200PT64BTs that came with my BT Vision box. Unfortunately, the 85s couldn't see the signal being sent by the 200, so I ended up having to plug both an 85 and a 200 poweline into the homehub to effectively act as seperate networks. Not ideal, but fine.

When I got my YouView box, I'd then hoped to be able to simply have a single 200 plugged into the homehub and the other existing 200, plus the new pair of 200s that came with Youview, to use around the house. The pair that came with YouView were HP200PT64BT2s and they don't commincate with the original 200 either.

Finally, a second pair of HP200PT64BT2s arrived in the post a day or two after the YouView package, as a total surprise, but rather strangely, they won't pair up with the other new HP200PT64BT2s either. Are these things locked down so tightly that they won't even let you can't have more than a pair running at a time? I'd have thought that me having 4 brand new HP200PT64BT2s would mean that I could simply plug one into the homehub, another into the Youview and then have another pair to use around the house. No luck.

Does anyone know anything more about how these have been modified by BT?

Thanks

0 Ratings
walkerx
Recognised Expert
Message 3 of 9

What happens when you try linking them together
0 Ratings