cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stevepa
Message 1 of 3

Monitoring BB usage

Hi all, I'm a newbie to this particular forum so be gentle with me lol!

I am currently on BT option1 and therefore have a 10GB monthly limit. As a relatively light user (I rarely download music or video) I was a little surprised to receive an e-mail from BT about 8 days ago advising me I was close to this limit, i.e. some 7.5GB.

I had only ever received one of these before about 3 years ago so paid little attention to it and carried on as normal. However, it continued to fester in my subconscious and 2 days ago, on the off-chance, I decided out of curiosity to check my usage via the BT BB usage meter on this site.

I couldn't believe my eyes! In those few days I was now up to 14.15GB and as far as I was concerned had hardly used my broadband other than the usual e-mail traffic. I contacted BT about this (fearing I'd been hacked and someone had hi-jacked my account to download DVD's etc.) but it turned out it had been me.

According to one "Guvinder", watching video's (i.e. youtube) or listening to music (i.e. spotify) and listening/watching the BBCi player etc. is the same as downloading? Therefore my question is as follows;

Though the BT BB usage meter tells you how much you've used, is there any way of monitoring your usage that is ongoing AND tells you which website is using how much download?

Also, is there any way I am able to flag my own usage and set it at say 9.5GB so I know without having to log into BT every day?

All or any feedback will be much appreciated, thank you.

Steve.

0 Ratings
2 REPLIES 2
Geoff93
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 3

Re: Monitoring BB usage

Hi Steve and welcome to the forum

Are you using devices other than PC's? If so then you need to keep an eye on your online BT download meter. The usage stats on the hub include data downloaded via the FON connection on your hub but the FON data is excluded from the Online monitor.