cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 12

My broadband also constantly drops out

Good evening, I hope this post isnt too long.

We have been BT customers at this address for over 40 years.

Every few years something goes wrong with our broadband and it is always a battle to try get it fixed with BT always starting off trying to blame our equipment.

I digress, this time I have been having problems with the broadband dropping out several times a day and sometimes several times per hr for the last few months. Initially I did think it could have been my equipment as I had been using my old TP link router for many years. I then replaced the router with a new updated version from TP Link and problem persisted, I changed out the line filter and all cabling from master socket and still problem persists. The master socket was changed out by BT a couple of years ago when they were trying to fix my last problem with the internet dropping every time I made or received a call ( fault traced to a short in the exchange)

I contacted BT on the 1st of September to be told by the foreign call center worker that it must be my router as I am not using a home hub and that home hubs are specifically designed to work with BT broadband and would not listen to reason or pay any attention to any of the fault finding I had done before contacting them for help. He then told me that he would be sending me a home hub to try and that BT would contact me again to see if this rectified the problem. I never received a new home hub and the fault was closed out without anyone talking to me again.