cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
paulbentall
Message 1 of 4

My email.

Can anybody explain and advise me what to do about emails that get generated and sent from my email address without my permission or knowledge.  In the past few weeks I have noticed several emails being sent by 'me' to people I have no knowledge of and have had no hand in sending. Sometimes they get returned which is how I know they have happened but I  got one myself this morning. Addressed to my email address from my email address and which I had nothing to do with . It had a link on it and then about a page of nonense ,  written in English but goobbldegook. What is going on?  Has someone stolen my email address and is using it if so why and how do I stop them. Or is it a virus or what?  Who should I tell to get it sorted out? Help!!! I am being used in some way  and its really unpleasant. Paul.

0 Ratings
3 REPLIES 3
miskmask
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 4

Re: My email.

It's entirely possible that spammers have discovered your email address, and they are using your name in the From field. If that's the case, then it falls into the category of spoofing. Not much to do about that except to NOT click on links in their emails out of curiosity because you might pick up a worm/virus. Check your email Sent Folder and see if there's anything in there that would indicate that the spammers have gained access to your password (required to physically use your email account). I would also change your password on that account just to protect yourself against hackers who might have access to your account.