cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JuliaP
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 20

Neighbours Either Side Get Fibre But I Cant - please help!

Go to solution

I know this has been asked a lot of times but I am desperate to get  super fast fibre. I work from home some of the week and I have been checking the status for super fast for about 2 years!! I eventually saw fibre  had been enabled in our road and even got a card through the door from BT saying it had been enabled  and we could order it, but despite all my neighbours showing up as being able to have it ( I checked them on the openreach checker) I cannot.

Please can a moderator have a look for me? I am currently on very poor adsl with speeds around 2mbps which often drops out.  It is pretty diabolocal. 

On the BT checker it just says 'fibre is enabled but we might be too far away.' Being as one neighbour is further away from the cabinet than me (and can order fibre) that makes no sense. It is a rural area in Suffolk. 

One odd thing is that we are all on the same  exchange and cabinet but when I put my neighbours address in the BT checker it says 'Technology FTTC' but mine says 'Technology --'  as if it does not even recognize our technology. 

Here is the screenshot from openreach. Note the neighbours also have something called VDSL available and mine does not show anything like that.  I am desperately hoping it is a database error as I really really need fibre or even half decent broadband to work at home. Thank you.

SS fibre.jpg

0 Ratings
19 REPLIES 19
john46
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 20

Re: Neighbours Either Side Get Fibre But I Cant - please help!

Go to solution
VDSL is fibre Infinity or whatever different providers call their fibre product
0 Ratings
Webby
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 20

Go to solution
Do the neighbours also show as connected to cabinet 4?