cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Newbie
630 Views
Message 1 of 11

Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

Hi all.

 

Our internet was working fine until their was a network upgrade. Since then, we have difficulty staying online. Our signal strength is excellent, we're showing as connected etc., but we can't surf the 'net. The solution is to turn our Netgear wireless modem router off and on again which gets things going. The problem arises in that we have to do the same thing the next day. Every day. Come home from work and want to go online? Power cycle the router.

 

It's proving a little inconvenient now, given the 10 days mentioned below have long passed. Any ideas why we have to constantly turn it off and on again?

 

I've tried poking about in the Netgear settings to no avail, but not to sure what needs done and am not too IT savvy.

 

 

Network upgrade email below:

 

This is to let you know that we've now upgraded your line and you should now have an improved, more consistent broadband connection, and maybe a speed increase.

You can find out more at bt.com/networkupgrade

Remember your line needs time to settle down

For the next ten days, your broadband might slow down or even stop now and again. That's normal and it'll soon settle down. You can help it along by leaving your BT Home Hub on and using your broadband as much as you can for this time.

 


Any and all input appreciated.

 

Cheers

0 Ratings
10 REPLIES 10
Distinguished Sage
629 Views
Message 2 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

Hi Welcome to the forums

 

Here is a basic guide to getting help from the community members done by CL Keith http://forumhelp.dyndns.info/speed/first_steps.html

 

Have you tried the quiet line test? - dial 17070 option 2 - should hear nothing - best done with a corded phone. if cordless phone you may hear a 'dull hum' which is normal

once you have posted the information asked for then the community members can help you more

 

Thank You

 

This is a customer to customer self help forum the only BT presence here are the forum moderators

0 Ratings
Newbie
625 Views
Message 3 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

Thanks for that John.

 

 

I've posted some info below.

 

Router Status
 
Account Name 
Firmware Version V2.1.00.54_1.00.54
 
ADSL Port
MAC Address 20:4E:7F:F0:48:E0
IP Address 86.163.160.193
Network TypePPPoA
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
Gateway IP Address217.32.142.103
Domain Name Server 213.120.234.38
213.120.234.70
 
LAN Port
MAC Address 20:4E:7F:F0:48:DF
IP Address 192.168.0.1
DHCP On
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
 
Modem
ADSL Firmware VersionA2pB023k.d20k_rc2
Modem StatusConnected
DownStream Connection Speed12613 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed1043 kbps
VPI0
VCI38
 
Wireless Port
Name (11N SSID)Wish You Were Here
Name (11G SSID)Wish You Were Here
RegionEurope
11N Channel36
11G ChannelAUTO
ModeUp to 300Mbps at 5GHz & 54Mbps at 2.4GHz
Wireless APEnabled
Broadcast NameEnabled

 

 

Download speed 11.05 MPS

Upload speed .086 MPS

Ping Latency 76.50 MS

 

Quiet test was done and it was very quiet.

 

However I've got two type of socket and don't know which is the master one.

 

Thanks

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
623 Views
Message 4 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

the master with the test socket is shown in the link 

 

could you alsoi locate the connection time /speed   attenuation noise margins and erors please  as we need that data 

 

 

 

0 Ratings
Newbie
616 Views
Message 5 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

This is with the new type master socket.

 

System Up Time 00:56:08
PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp Time
WANPPPoA6030546802575404700:11:10
LAN10M/100M1424954220101542900:56:04
WLAN11M/54M/300M6443154117017316462700:55:45

ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
Connection Speed14909 kbps1048 kbps
Line Attenuation23.0 db8.8 db
Noise Margin9.1 db6.2 db

 

 

Connection Status
 
Connection Time00:13:25
Connecting to ServerConnected
NegotiationSuccess
AuthenticationSuccess
Getting IP Addresses86.171.228.5
Getting Network Mask255.255.255.255
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

Account Name 
Firmware Version V2.1.00.54_1.00.54
 
ADSL Port
MAC Address 20:4E:7F:F0:48:E0
IP Address 86.171.228.5
Network TypePPPoA
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
Gateway IP Address217.32.142.103
Domain Name Server 213.120.234.38
213.120.234.70
 
LAN Port
MAC Address 20:4E:7F:F0:48:DF
IP Address 192.168.0.1
DHCP On
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
 
Modem
ADSL Firmware VersionA2pB023k.d20k_rc2
Modem StatusConnected
DownStream Connection Speed14909 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed1048 kbps
VPI0
VCI38
 
Wireless Port
Name (11N SSID)Wish You Were Here
Name (11G SSID)Wish You Were Here
RegionEurope
11N Channel36
11G ChannelAUTO
ModeUp to 300Mbps at 5GHz & 54Mbps at 2.4GHz
Wireless APEnabled
Broadcast Name

Enabled

0 Ratings
Newbie
614 Views
Message 6 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

 

Download speed 13.39 MPS

Upload speed .083 MPS

Ping Latency 409.50 MS

 

Do not know how to find the error stats.

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
612 Views
Message 7 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

how are you connecting your PC to the router wireless or wired ?
0 Ratings
Newbie
606 Views
Message 8 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

It's wireless John

 

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
602 Views
Message 9 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

your problem in that case looks like it is wireless based this link may help you http://forumhelp.dyndns.info/wireless/wirelessmenu.html
0 Ratings
Contributor
598 Views
Message 10 of 11

Re: Network upgrade complete but connection problems have started.

it is a common issue with that modem (I assume from the firmware that it is a DGND3300 ?) changing the wireless settings to 802.11g can sometimes help.

Next time the problem occurs, try connecting to the modem by ethernet cable and see if you can access the netgear app.