Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
plangham
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 23

New Superfast North Yorks connection

Go to solution

Hi, I'm new to this so please bear with me.

I live in rural north yorkshire some 7KM from the exchange and have enjoyed standard broadband of approx 1MB for years.

The fibre cabinet was installed some weeks ago and now is showing as live and accepting orders, this cabinet is approx 50m away from the original copper cabinet which in turn is approx 750m from my property.

I have run a speed check which shows I can expect the same pathetic speed if I  changed to a fibre package with any company.

I would have expected this to have risen substantially as the exchange has in effect been brought closer to the village by fibre.

Can anyone explain this as the only answer I can get from BT is to contact retentions and sign up to an upgrade and see if it improves!

many thanks

Paul

0 Ratings
22 REPLIES 22
imjolly
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 23

Re: New Superfast North Yorks connection

Go to solution

enter your phone number and post results  remember delete number first  http://dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
plangham
Aspiring Contributor
Message 3 of 23

Go to solution

As requested

BT.jpg

0 Ratings
imjolly
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 23

Go to solution

As you said at outset your fibre speed is no better than the copper adsl. Unfortunately fibre loses speed over distance faster than the traditional copper. You can fro this graph

original.png

Your line may well not run as you expect and it is further from the cabinet than you think. You may also have aluminium cable which affects your speed