cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
drock
Beginner
Message 1 of 5

No bandwidth, connection up - HH3 OUT: BLOCK [65], IN:BLOCK [16]

Posting here in the hope that someone can explain some router messages to me, which I've searched for already on the forum but not found a suitable answer for. I work in IT, so I don't particularly enjoy time spent on 'technical' helplines - hopefully someone who knows what they're talking about will read this!

Our line has 10.5 Mbit downstream and has been performing pretty much within a few percent of that for a year (since we took on the connection). Over the last 4 or 5 days we've been absolute loss of bandwidth without loss of connection, which has been occuring at any time but particularly between 4pm and 11pm. The times I've been able to test the bandwidth, the speed starts out at 1Mbit at most and quickly falls away to nothing (I've not been able to complete any test I manage to get started during one of these periods). I've done some web dev in the past, so the best I can explain it is like a DDOS attack or someone leeching our bandwidth for some nefarious purpose.

Poking around in the HH3 router's logs, there are a lot of instances of the following firewall messages:

OUT: BLOCK [65] First packet is Invalid (Invalid tcp flags for current tcp state: TCP [192.168.1.xx]:xxxx->[xx.xx.xxx.xxx]:xxx on ppp0)

• I assume these aren't much harm - connections that have expired or somesuch? I get them in conjunction with the following message, which is why I put them here, but they can occur isolated.

IN: BLOCK [16] Remote administration (TCP [218.77.79.34]:58566->[xx.xxx.xx.xxx]:xxxx on ppp0)