cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
alichat
Message 1 of 7

No broadband in my area

Hello . . Can anyone help

I have just been told that the BT vision package that was due to go live is not possible in my area, unless I want to pay for additional work to be carried out totalling £52,000  YES  £52,000!  I wasn't given any other options. I'm not technical but should I be able to have Internet access with ADSL???  Help I need to work from home occasionally    Thanks

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
ttyrie
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 7

Re: No broadband in my area

Hi,

Woow........ £52,000 just to get broadband- BT do mobile broadband if it covers your area and you could get tv from an alternative provider called British *** Broadcasting..........

0 Ratings
SUBARU555
Aspiring Contributor
Message 3 of 7

as far as i know bt vision needs 3mb to work so you should be able to get bbinternet  it might be to slow to support bt vision that is all. i had the same problem a couple of years ago but i can get bb internet 600k ish.

ring bt and ask for the option 1 internet package they will do a line test and give you a rough speed you should be able to get.

hope this helps.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
alichat
Message 4 of 7

No mobile coverage either . .   i dont live in the back of beyond, just a bit of a dip!

Tags (1)
0 Ratings
alichat
Message 5 of 7

Thanks for the advise - will give them a call tomorrow.

0 Ratings
IanC
Recognised Expert
Message 6 of 7

As Subaru555 says, you need a minimum speed (2Mbps, not 3...) before they'll provide a Vision service, but that's not to say that you can't get broadband at all.