cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Message 1 of 7

Not Great Broadband Speed

I'm fairly new to BT and have found that since coming from my previous supplier in August(same exchange/house/internal equipment) my speeds have decreased from around 14mbps to 8/9mbps

When I first joined BT speeds were nearer 14 and sometimes 15, but then since a few of router resets (I know this can affect the speed the line syncs at) - things have settled around 8.

I've checked with the master socket and done the BT speedtests. Is there anything that can be done to bring the speeds up to something close to what I'd previously been getting?

From the BT Wholeslae speed test:

Download speedachieved during the test was - 8.47 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
 IP Profile for your line is - 8.55 Mbps

From the basic speedtest:

The speed coming into your house

Connection speed 9.69Mb

Could be improved

The speed you get at your computer

• Download speed 8.48Mb
  • Upload speed 0.84Mb

Poor 

Connection details from last router reset - 5 days ago.

19:55:49, 16 Oct.(334241.520000) DSL noise margin: 5.90 dB upstream, 12.10 dB downstream
19:55:48, 16 Oct.

(334240.510000) DSL line rate: 1112 Kbps upstream, 9688 Kbps downstream

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 7

Re: Not Great Broadband Speed

Have you tried the test socket instead of the master socket? Your noise margin is high at 12 and if you can get that down to normal 6db then that would increase your connection speed

Is your router dropping connection which would cause the high noise margin

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Highlighted
Message 3 of 7