cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
extin
Message 1 of 9

Outlook settings

Hi,

I have recently joined BT Broadband. I have a personal email address - not the btinternet one. I was having problems sending emails (though I could receive them). Changing the SMTP server to "mail.btinternet.com" seems to have stopped me recieving emails as well. I made no other changes. It also keeps asking for a password for both my email address and btinternet server. Please could someone help? I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to this sort of thing.

Thanks

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Guru
Guru
Message 2 of 9

Re: Outlook settings

The mail.btinternet.com smtp server is for BT Yahoo Mail.

Where do you get your email from? Gmail, Yahoo, Windows live, ect? ....

Cheers,
James

jac_95 | BT.com Help Site | BT Service Status
Someone Solved Your Question?
Please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Try a Search
See if someone in the community had the same problem and how they got it resolved.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Guru
Distinguished Guru
Message 3 of 9

Deleted by poster.

--
You can click the thumbs up icon below this message if you think it was helpful.
Distinguished Guru
Message 4 of 9

@extin wrote:

Hi,

I have recently joined BT Broadband. I have a personal email address - not the btinternet one. I was having problems sending emails (though I could receive them). Changing the SMTP server to "mail.btinternet.com" seems to have stopped me recieving emails as well. I made no other changes. It also keeps asking for a password for both my email address and btinternet server. Please could someone help? I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to this sort of thing.

Thanks

Hi. Welcome to the forums.

Receiving emails is fine for non BTinternet email addresses, and you should put back the pop3 server (if you altered it) to that you had previously set.