cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 8

Radio Frequency Interference to Home Hub 5

I am a licenced Radio Amateur, but since I have moved to infinity with the new hub 5, when I transmit in the HF Bands, my router picks this up and slows down then loses connection. I was wondering if there is an RF Filter that I can put on the incoming line to stop the RF getting into the Hub.

The easiest way to solve this would be for the incoming cable to be re-routed on the outside of the house, to take it away from the transmitting antennnas. But I cannot seem to be able to convey that this is what I want done to the Customer Helpline.

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 8

Re: Radio Frequency Interference to Home Hub 5

Unfortunately, you are not going to be able to do anything about this, as the difference in power levels between a HF transmitter, and the VDSL broadband signal is so great, that interference is inevitable.

VDSL is more susceptible to HF interference as it uses a higher frequency range than ADSL2+, whose upper limit is about 2MHz as only the 160M band tends to affect it.

The internal circuitry of the HH5 is not screened, so HF pickup is very likely. Re-routing any external cable is not going to help, as interference is going to be introduced by the mains wiring as well.

You are most likely affecting any neighbours VDSL connection as well, so expect a knock on the door Smiley Sad

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Aspiring Expert
Message 3 of 8

Perhaps a Zyxel 8324/8924 would help, it has a common mode filter as close to the modem electronics as possible.

If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer click the ratings star on the left-hand side. If the reply answers your question, mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Aspiring Contributor
Message 4 of 8