cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mboursnell
Beginner
Message 1 of 11

Removing the front of the master socket - broadband connection lost

I have a master socket which has two sockets on the front. The top one is for broadband and the bottom one is for the phone. When I remove the front of this master socket, (to plug the phone into the socket inside - to check for faults) what happens is that the broadband connection is lost.

Should this happen?  I don't see why it does.....

Tags (1)
0 Ratings
10 REPLIES 10
Keith_Beddoe
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 11

Re: Removing the front of the master socket - broadband connection lost

Welcome to this user forum. @mboursnell

That is normal because the main incoming line is routed via that bottom section, so removing it disconnects the internal filter.

The solution is to plug a microfilter into that "test" socket, then plug the phone and the lead to the home hub, into the microfilter, after unplugging it from the top socket.

Similar to this diagram, (just ignore the fact that the photo shows a different socket)

test_socket.jpg

0 Ratings
licquorice
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 11

Surely not on an SSFP Keith. Only the filtered telephony is routed via the lower removable plate.

0 Ratings
Keith_Beddoe
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 11

@licquorice wrote:

Surely not on an SSFP Keith. Only the filtered telephony is routed via the lower removable plate.

@licquorice No, on the SSFP the socket behind, is an extension of the test socket, which is why you can plug a microfilter into the front and get phone and broadband. Its one of the tests that is normally asked for on this forum.

There are two through connections on that faceplate, which pass the incoming line back to the enclosed PCB, which has the filter components feeding the top socket.

It does make things a bit unreliable as you have two sets of connectors.