Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
goldie1980
Beginner
Message 1 of 4

Replacement for my Home Hub 5

Hi Everyone,

I am looking to replace my home hub 5.  I am on infinity 1 unlimited as i can only get a max speed of 25mb/s.  I have a number of devices running on the network including a NAS, 3 mobiles, 2 tablets, android box and an xbox one.  Sometimes these are all online at the same time.  I have been trying to set up QoS on HH5 but i cannot find a way of doing this.

I have been looking for a straight replacement modem/router combo to replace the HH5 which will still give me the same or better speeds to my devices.  The HH5 currently drops out a few times most days and when a few devices are online others will stop working even a low res youtube video will stop.

I have looked at the TPlink TD-W9980 but i have been told that this is only 801.11n and i should get a 801.11ac router.  I am no networking expert so any advice would be good.  My budget isn't huge, around £100.  Could anyone give me some advice please?

Also probably a silly question so i apologise in advance.  My android box, xbox one and smart tv are connected via cat 6a ethernet cable so will it really matter if it is n or ac or is that purely the wifi?  I have two mobiles that can use ac wifi but given my slowish fibre would it make a huge difference if i got an 801.11n?

Many thanks

Paul

0 Ratings
3 REPLIES 3
Liam_
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 4

Re: Replacement for my Home Hub 5

Hi,

In reality there's not a great advantage in AC.  Folks will no doubt dispute this statement but my Fritzbox 3390 is N rated and can register download speeds of 74Mbps via wireless on  Infinity 2.  So, would I get faster transfers with AC?   You can only get as fast as your connection.  Perhaps internal LAN transfers would be quicker but so what.  According to Windows I get local data transfers between 10 and 13 MBps, that's megabytes not megabits.