cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jenfa
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 6

Rural infinity and getting the best out of it? please

Ok please bear with me I'm not that technical on networks etc.

I currently am in a rural location and get about 1meg speed, you may be laughing but we have been as low as 256k!

BT infinity is now possible to the cabinet which is about 1 mile away at 25.6mb, sounds good BUT

due to the poor speed we get now we are only on BB option 1 as using 10gb is hard to do am considering going for infinity option 1 but would increase my price per month and so want to get the most out of it.

To get the 1meg we eventually got bt to install new line, move master socket and have a front plate think V2000? which stops the broadband at the master socket, from reading I think this is what infinity does too? The wireless burglar alarm and other phone socket come off this box.

I use ethernet to connect to my IMAC and my husband uses his IPAD wirelessly.  We currently would not be able to watch movies on the tv or iplayer etc as our tv has no internet connection.  We also have brick internal walls and our house is very very wide so the hub currently doesn't give a strong enough signal from the study (master socket) to the master bedroom totally other end of the house.

So:

1) what is the best way to extend the wireless signal? airport extreme an option? (we have 2 different fuse boxes due to extensions of the house so the ones that use the internal wiring won't work)

2) what's the best way to get a signal to the tv so that we can make use of the 40gb by watching catch up tv, movies or trailers?

Sorry if I have waffled but thought background would be helpful still probably missed something out! 

0 Ratings
5 REPLIES 5
MeanMint
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 6

Re: Rural infinity and getting the best out of it? please