cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Message 1 of 22

Server down?

Anyone else experiencing this please? Primary and a secondary account both using Thunderbird IMAP. Sending and receiving fail.

Another mail account hosted by 123-reg works fine.

BTmaildown.JPG

0 Ratings
21 REPLIES 21
Highlighted
Contributor
Message 2 of 22

Re: Server down?

Yup, we've got the same. Webmail access works, so I assume it's the IMAP service.

tried an on-line instant chat - but was told there was a 12-minute wait!

Highlighted
Message 3 of 22

Thanks ajwh. It's good to know it's not just us. 

Highlighted
Message 4 of 22

BTmaildownTrRt.JPG

Maybe there's a way of configuring Thunderbird to wait a bit longer before giving up? I'm not an expert but it looks like the ping gets there after a few seconds.

..... just searched and I can't find a way to do this.

Btw, Outlook on a Galaxy J3 seems to connect normally.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Contributor
Message 5 of 22

It's not a TB thing......

Two Samsung Galaxy phones fail, and so does Outlook 10

Outlook says "Server refused connection"

Ping produces a response.

Tracert connects (but slowly)

So it's the BT server at mail.btinternet.bt.lon5.cpcloud.co.uk [65.20.0.43] which is not responding correctly

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Message 6 of 22

Outlook Express POP3 on an XP system .... secondary account works OK, as does sending from the primary, but receiving on the primary fails.

Tracert from that system yields a similar timeout on the first hop -  *  *  *  *  11 secs to 31.55.187.197

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Contributor
Message 7 of 22