cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Baringo
Message 1 of 7

Setting up a Netgear DG834G wireless router

Hi folks

I'm new to BT Broadband, which I'm using in a relative's house and currently connected via their Voyager 105 ADSL modem.  I would like to replace this with my own DG834G, which I've been using with another ISP for several years.

Any help with configuring the Netgear router would be gratefully appreciated please.  Can anyone point me to, perhaps, a BT.com page that lists the necessary settings?  I'm not a novice but I am getting on a bit, so please be kind!

Thanks in anticipation...

Ian

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Distinguished Guru
Message 2 of 7

Re: Setting up a Netgear DG834G wireless router

Hi

You will need to login in to the netgear router.

To access the login page is easy and you will be able to do this simply and easily by following these steps:

1. Connect your laptop or desktop computer to the netgear router using an ethernet cable. Note if you have already connected your laptop or dekstop computer to your netgear router wirelessly then you do not need to make the connection with an ethernet cable.

2. Power on your laptop or desktop computer and access your windows desktop.

3. Open your favourite web browser. Examples are but not limited to, Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, Safari. The one you normally use to access the internet and view web pages will do just fine.

4. In the address bar type  http://192.168.0.1   and press enter.

5. You will now see the netgear router login page and by default you will be asked to authenticate yourself by providing a username and password.

6. In the username field type in    admin

7. In the password field type in    password

8. Then press enter or click the login/ok button.

That is all you need to do in order to access your netgear router login.