Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 45

Should I upgrade to infinity?

Hi

Newbie here.

Our cabinet, maybe 2km ish away, has been upgraded to FTTC a few months ago.

As first we were told we could only get 'faster broadband' but I understand this has been discontinued and we are now being offered infinity.

I am on ADSL currently and get 5mb connection. http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6798709153.png

My concern is that the range quoted on the BT chceker for infinity appears to suggest that infinity might actually be slower than ADSL, but also that it might be as high as 9mb.

Now my understanding is poor, but 5mb for ADSL is right at the top of the checker's expected values. Therefore can I extrapolate that I will get the top end of the infinity range, quoted at 9mb?

Maybe not relavant, but the checker's values for infinty have recently gone up from 7mb to the new 9mb number. Is this any indication of line quality?

I would pay for infinity if I were to get solid 9mb. But I would not pay infinity if it were to give 5mb or even lower.

Advice grately appriciated! Scrrenshots below.

Finally, and less importantly, is there any material difference in the BT and Sky fibre product? BT refuse to offer me the black friday deal at £29 a month and want to charge me £45 a month for infinity, but sky will offer it to me for £25. Madness.

Thanks

Will

original.png

Screen Shot 2017-11-16 at 12.43.42.png

0 Ratings
44 REPLIES 44
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 45

Re: Should I upgrade to infinity?

At those speeds I would stick with what you have. If you changed you could actually drop to the lower estimate and you would have no recourse to BT because you would still be in your estimated speed range.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Aspiring Expert
Message 3 of 45

Its your choice but to me your doing well with copper and looks as if it better than the estimates for fibre.