Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 9

Slow Upload?

Hi All

I happily switched to BT Infinity in early June as soon as my exchange became enabled (Ashtead).

My line was 'rated' at giving me 53 down and 20 up. I now consistently get 45-53 down depending on time of day etc but I have only ever managed 4-6 up.  I upload a lot of photos to the Cloud so am disappointed in this speed.

To me, this is much lower than I should be getting, given what I was told I would get. I am not a broadband novice and I know all about the 'up to' arguments, but I thought it would be different with FTTC and I would get an upload speed much closer to what they rated my line as achieving.

I am on the Infinity 2 unlimited, 'up to' 76 down and 19 up package.

Is 1/5 the speed I was advised of being able to get in upload a problem?

Many thanks for any advice.

Jeff

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Guru
Message 2 of 9

Re: Slow Upload?

Test your upload with http://mcslhr.visualware.com/myspeed/myspeed_line_capspeed.html.  This gives me realistic figures that match those I see on good quality real upload work (backup to SquirrelSave) (around 15/17 for me).  The BT wholesale  speedtester usually gives around 10, the the BT retail speedtester under 8.

Some cloud backup is very slow.  Below are a few tests I made earlier when I first had Infinity installed.  Also, quite a few clients have tunable speed locks to prevent them killing other programs, and these often default to values appropriate to ADSL rather than FTTC.

When I was first installed there were quite a few download issues (profile went down to 3.5Mbps from 58Mbps at one point).  The upload remained at a profile of 20 and actual upload speeds remained good.

backup speeds (all in kbps):
~~~~~~~~~
CrashPlan: 600 (nb to US servers, CrashPlan UK is a different more expensive setup that has UK servers)
IDrive: 2700, rock solid
ZipCloud: 1000