You have been advised wrong. If you keep the items you will be charged the full retail price for the YouView box, and the home hub. They would need to be returned to avoid being charged.
I would imagine the advisor did not say that you would not be charged, they just said you could keep the equipment.
Has your phone line been activated by BT Retail?
You need to wait until a moderator replies, its quite possible that the broadband activation date is close, you may have been in a waiting list.
If there is a pending order in the system, then Sky would not be able to process an order for at least 10 days, once the cancellation had been accepted by BT.
My advice would be to progress your BT order, to avoid any possible charges.
Quote from T&Cs
If you cancel a Service within your Cooling Off Period and we've provided you with Equipment for that Service, the Agreement won't end until you've returned the Equipment to us and: