cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Beginner
Message 11 of 28

Re: Upnp, dnla and file sharing broken by home hub 5...

Having just suffered UpnP & other routing problems with my Windows Home Server 2011, I came to this post & have to be on the side of the complainant on this.

I may be old & a bit creaky but in retirement after 25 years in IT support, many of them as an acredited server engineer I have always been under the impression that something puporting to be a ROUTER should at least be capable of routing according to the accepted industrial standards.

BT have sold me a ROUTER & it does not correctly route. How then is this not their problem?

My old but reliable TL-WR1043 worked fine with my fully CAT 6 network & gigabit switch, I thought my HH5 would not only just get rid of the modem but give me the added 5G wireless channel but I don't consider the upgrade to be anything more than a product that clearly doesn't do 'what it says on the box'.

Illegitemi non Carborundum
0 Ratings
Message 12 of 28

As a brand new BT Infinity customer, I have also just found out about the limitations of the HH5.

In my case, the HH5 doesn't seem to bridge between wired and wireless properly.

It does allow my wireless clients to access the wired Plex media server, but doesn't allow Windows 8.1 to browse the network via a share/IP or RDP session.

Quite bizarre for what should be normal network operation.

Come on BT, you can do better than this. Or is it Huawai who can't write decent firmware? Either way, this should have been spotted even before any internal testing (assuming BT did any).

0 Ratings
Message 13 of 28