cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Beginner
Message 1 of 16

VPN, HH5, UDP and MAC Codes

First  VPN over BT's network:-

I've been using PureVPN for 3 years first on BE/O2 and now in the last 13 months BT. Sometimes my VPN connection over Point-to-Point Protocol grinds to a halt on all servcesi. I've been in intensive testiing and fault finding with my VPN supplier who can find no reason for this behaviour in their networks. After about 1 minute the VPN connection grinds to a halt. I can stop my VPN client, reconnect and whizz away for about another minute before it all stops. 

Recently I have changed to Home Hub 5 (mainly to get the 5GHz wireless band). While fault finding with PureVPN I discovered another issue. The HH5 will not allow UDP handshaking when trying to set up a VPN connection over port 53. I've done the obvious; reset the router; port forwarded 53, all to no avail. I do note that PureVPN use port 53 for UDP traffic and suspect, perhaps, the HH5 router is sending this traffic to its DNS servers.

Below log of connection:-

sudo openvpn --config Germany-UDP.ovpn
[sudo] password for angela: 
Sun Jun  1 16:53:34 2014 OpenVPN 2.3.2 x86_64-pc-linux-gnu [SSL (OpenSSL)] [LZO] [EPOLL] [PKCS11] [eurephia] [MH] [IPv6] built on Feb  4 2014
Enter Auth Username:purevpnxxxxxx0
Enter Auth Password:
Sun Jun  1 16:53:53 2014 WARNING: No server certificate verification method has been enabled.  See http://openvpn.net/howto.html#mitm for more info.
Sun Jun  1 16:53:53 2014 WARNING: file 'Wdc.key' is group or others accessible
Sun Jun  1 16:53:53 2014 Control Channel Authentication: using 'Wdc.key' as a OpenVPN static key file
Sun Jun  1 16:53:59 2014 UDPv4 link local: [undef]
Sun Jun  1 16:53:59 2014 UDPv4 link remote: [AF_INET]xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:53
Sun Jun  1 16:54:59 2014 TLS Error: TLS key negotiation failed to occur within 60 seconds (check your network connectivity)
Sun Jun  1 16:54:59 2014 TLS Error: TLS handshake failed