cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Will_cain
Contributor
Message 1 of 8

VPN setup

Anyone got a good guide for a complete novice to set up a VPN.

Not sure if I want it on everything because of speed issues or just the more edgy PCs.

I've got a BT smart hub that looks llike it's geared up to do it but I'm loathe to dive in with VPN that is not compatible

Cheers

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
smf22
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 8

Re: VPN setup

To be honest I'm not entirely sure I understand what you're trying to achieve when you say "set up a VPN". A VPN is really just a secure method of passing traffic across an insecure network e.g., the Internet. Where are you trying to pass traffic between?

To be clear, the BT Smart Hub does not support or run any VPN software. It can forward traffic between two VPN end points e.g., a "head end" on the Internet and a host on your private LAN running an appropriate "VPN client", but other than forwarding the traffic it plays no role in the VPN itself.

In terms of different types of VPN, I've used L2TP, PPTP, SSTP and ESP over UDP successfully with the Smart Hub. There was an issue with using PPTP on an early version of the Smart Hub firmware that caused the Hub to crash, but that issue is resolved since the November 2016 release of the Hub firmware. 

If you can provide a little more detail on what you're actually trying to achieve, perhaps we can provide some more guidance.

Regards

0 Ratings
Will_cain
Contributor
Message 3 of 8

Thanks for the response. Now I've had another look at the HUB I can see that the VPN bit only applies to "port Clamping" so my idea of installing VPN software is dead in the water. What I'm trying to do is to hide my IP address from nosey web sites. Obviously "free" is good but if that means that performance is rubbish then cheap will do

Cheers

0 Ratings
Will_cain
Contributor
Message 4 of 8

Oh that's on Windows PC, Linux and Android phone
0 Ratings
smf22