Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
JoshJackson
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 11

Very high Latency and inconsistent download speeds

Hi all,

This is my first time on these forums and hopefully i can find some help for my horrible problem.

For the last 2-3 weeks my latency has consistently been 200+, i like to play online games alot and i cant with this latency. I have gone threw the whole drill of ringing BT and following there advice and i even had a BT engineer come out and he couldnt' find any problems. BT said they checked my line and couldn't find anything wrong, and the engineer didn't find any problems with the router (black).

I also have changed all of the wiring from the socket in the wall, which leads to the router, which leaders to a modem (i think its called that) that then connects me to the internet (Cable).

I am running out of patience as i spend alot of time on games such as Call of Duty and seeing my mates play it as i have 300+ ping is really annoying.

I Have noticed that the other computer my parents use also have the same high latency issue and they have tried it on cable and wireless with the same bad results. I have a program called xfire which shows my ping for all the servers on my list and there all 200+ but sometimes when i test my speeds on speedtest.net it shows me with 50 ping i believe this is due to the large spikes that i get, when im on call of duty it constantly jumps around 100, 150, 200 and sometimes even 50.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Josh.

Also im not very good with computers so if anyone would like any figures or whatever just point me to the website and ill try and get them for you.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1133172089.png

This looks ok but on xfire all the servers are at 300+ and when i go ingame there just as high.

Tags (1)
0 Ratings
10 REPLIES 10
infinidim
Expert
Message 2 of 11

Re: Very high Latency and inconsistent download speeds