Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
wingers57
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

Website access times are often 20 seconds or more

Go to solution

I am looking for some help here to understand what is happening. This is my situation. I am a networking professional having spent over 25 yrs designing networking products. I do understand IP and networking. I have BT's 38Mbit Infinity package. Prior to this I had ADSL2+ at 4Mb/s download. I keep running into situations where you enter a URL into the browser and then wait for 20 seconds plus for something to happen. This is not a physical layer link speed problem, it is higher than that. When I do a link test with the BT Wholesale site it tells me that I have 37Mb/s download and around 8Mb/s upload. I can also go to a site and download a movie very quickly. So whatever the problem is, it is not related to the speed of a connection ONCE THE CONNECTION HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED.

When I seek help from BT which I have done three times now, we get down to unplug the router, plug the router back in and then do the speed test and it all works. However what I am doing here is running a service within the BT access network. My problems occur when I am going out of the BT access network into the internet.

Now one can say it is the server at the far end which is causing the delays. However if I do an independent test from that server to a test location in London operated by Google then the results frequently show much faster performance of the the order of a second or two, and certainly not 20 or 30 seconds. Having established a connection on refreshing the browser it comes back quite quickly.

Prior to getting BT infinity I was with O2. Going from website to website was much quicker. Download speeds over established connections were slower. The latter you would expect. The former you would not.