cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 23

Will copper cabling being robbed and replace affect my bb speed?

Hey guys I a bit of a noob here but here we go.

We've have the copper cabling outside our house robbed two times in the past 2 months. We didn't have the greatest speeds before but will this issue affect my line much.

Currently this is where I'm sitting.

Line stateConnected
Connection time0 days, 3:10:21
Downstream4,800 Kbps
Upstream448 Kbps

ADSL settings

VPI/VCI0/38
TypePPPoA
ModulationITU-T G.992.1
Latency typeInterleaved
Noise margin (Down/Up)8.1 dB / 22.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up)47.0 dB / 28.0 dB
Output power (Down/Up)19.5 dBm / 11.9 dBm

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1402025821.png

My current phone exchange is in Harston, Cambridge and I live in Foxton, Cambridge.

Didn't know wether BT could improve my line or BB in anyway, such as I play online games and would like low latency as possible.

Will fastpath affect my line or make a difference.

Cheers, Nick

0 Ratings
22 REPLIES 22
Expert
Message 2 of 23

Re: Will copper cabling being robbed and replace affect my bb speed?

Your connection speed is not bad, the max you could expect from your attenuation is 5.5mbps, once your line has been connected for a while it may rise and the amount of interleaving should automatically fall making you latency better. Switching your latency to fast is possible and could help get your ping down, but i wouldn’t say it’s terrible as it is. The exchange automatically controls latency though so while you can ask for it to be changed, if you have any more problems it’s likely to switch back to interleaved. Generally switching to fast doesn’t have much impact on your speeds. If you really want to switch then put in a request, but at your line length you current latency is not that bad and should improve on its own if your line is stable.