Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PamP
Beginner
Message 1 of 15

Wiring a Master Socket Face Plate

Go to solution

I have a master socket in the hallway and an extension in the bedroom.

After issues with broadband keep dropping out, the face plate has been removed and the broadband router and phone plugged into the test socket (using a filter).  The broadband and phone work fine.  

Assuming that the face plate has therefore developed a fault, I thought it would be a 2 minute job to simply buy a new one and replace it.  However, the old one I took off (part No. 1036885) had 6 wires all connected to it, but the replacement face plate (also parrt No. 1036885) only has connectors for 3 wires, and I am finding the instructions a little confusing.

The colouring of the 6 wires is as follows and if I follow the instructions, this is what I have to do;

1) White with blue ring - connect to no 5

2) White with orange ring - do not connect

3) White with green ring ??

4) Blue with white ring - connect to no 2

5) Orange with white ring - connect to no 3

6) Green with white ring ??

So what do I do with 3 and 6 listed above?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

0 Ratings
14 REPLIES 14
Deathtrap3000
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 15

Re: Wiring a Master Socket Face Plate

Go to solution
Nothing at all. They are left disconnected. Only the blue pair need be connected to 2 and 5 anyway. Have you considdered that it may be your extension wiring causing the fault? And not the faceplate.
PamP
Beginner
Message 3 of 15

Go to solution
Many thanks for the speedy response, hadn't considered the extension wiring as being a culprit, if changing the face plate presents with the same problem then I will probably have to call an engineer out to check it all over, thanks for the advice.
0 Ratings
john46
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 15

Go to solution