Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 14

Youview box starting up woes

Go to solution

Hi Folks, I'm rather new to all this forum malarkey and not in the least bit technical but here goes.

I returned from a week away this week to find my BT Youview box won't start up properly, having been left in standby mode and left on at the mains, (I was watching TV the day I left and it was working fine).

Upon my return I used the remote control to turn it on which brought up the 'BT logo/waking up screen' followed by the Youview screen with the 'adjust eco mode' message followed by the 'Nearly ready' screen; at which point it cuts out and does all of the above repeatedly.

I've turned the switch off and on at the back of the box which brings up a red light on the front of the box then a blue light as it restarts but it just does above cycle again.

I've tried the factory reset by pressing the down arrow for several seconds as instructed which then brings up a maintenance message which the box doesn't respond to when I press standby. I've turned it off at the mains and again it cuts out after the nearly ready screen.

I've had the box 9 months since upgrading to Infinity & its always been working ok up to this point. Does anyone know if it's possible to fix this as I would rather not have to put in a call to the BT helpdesk as I know from past experience its a misson to get anything resolved with them!

0 Ratings
13 REPLIES 13
Highlighted
Distinguished Guru
Distinguished Guru
Message 2 of 14

Re: Youview box starting up woes

Go to solution

KG40 - welcome to the community.

Starting up the maintenance mode can be a bit fiddly  so always best to try the process a couple of times - Not sure which Youview box model you have - the guide to using the maintenance mode is at

http://support.youview.com/articles/Self_Service_FAQ/How-do-I-perform-a-maintenance-mode-recovery-13...