cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Beginner
Message 1 of 25

getting dvr to send emails

Hi all , hope someone can help .

im a cctv engineer and used to setting routers up,port forwarding etc . I set up "email alert" on these dvrs which contact a montioring station and then dial in . On two BT business broadband sites now ive tried i cannot get a email to be sent from the dvr , i can view online fine it just will not email. ive even tried differnt routers with no luck . If i bring the dvr home and plug it into my plusnet broad band , it can send emails fine . so im confident theres nothing wrong with the config but bt is blocking somehow?? has anyone else experianced this or know a fix . The last one i had i made the customer cancel his bt and go with talktalk, and it now emails fine???

appreciate any help !!!

0 Ratings
24 REPLIES 24
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 25

Re: getting dvr to send emails

This is a BT residential customer forum.

BT Business customers use a different email system so you would be better to post on the business forum where you might get some help.

https://business.forums.bt.com/

0 Ratings
Recognised Expert
Message 3 of 25

What SMTP server & port are you using for the DVR to send emails?

Message 4 of 25

Thanks will do !
0 Ratings
Beginner
Message 5 of 25

the smtp is a private one that the monitoring station uses.the port is 25 , theres just a sending name and email and receiver name and email, no authentication . it works on every other network?

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 6 of 25

Have you tried using port 465?

0 Ratings
Beginner
Message 7 of 25

yes still fails

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 8 of 25

Presumably you will also have tried port 587?

0 Ratings
Beginner
Message 9 of 25