cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Rumbles
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 17

netgear 600

Having lost patience with the speed of my broadband connection i purchased a netgear 600. However i have spent about 6 hours trying to install it but without success.  As a real computer novice i tried to connect it to my phone line using the equipment provided. I then tried running it through my homehub. All to no avail. I could not get connected to the internet at all and had to remove the N600.

Should i be installing this as a replacement for the homehub? If so is the homehub redundant?

I managed to get the Netgear login page with all the relevant info generated by the set up wizard but still no internet connection. I connected the yellow ethernet cable to the homebub and then to the N600. However i still got no internet access .

I just need to know where i am going wrong.

Questions. 1 Does the Homehub play a part in the installation of the N600 or does it replace it?

2. What wires run where from the phone socket to the new router?

3. Should the set up wizard work well with BT Broadband.

It has left me with a headache.

0 Ratings
16 REPLIES 16
Keith_Beddoe
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 17

Re: netgear 600

Are you on ADSL or BT Infinity?

0 Ratings
Rumbles
Aspiring Contributor
Message 3 of 17

ADSL
0 Ratings
Keith_Beddoe
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 17

@Rumbles wrote:
ADSL

The Netgear is a cable router, you cannot use it on ADSL unless you purchase a separate modem. So its not suitable as a replacement for home hub, but you may be able to use it as an additional wireless access point, but it cannot be connected to your phone line.

Which home hub do you have, and what is the problem you are having?

0 Ratings
imjolly
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 5 of 17

there are many N600 netgear which will work on ADSL which model of netgear did you buy?