cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
WarrenCabral
Beginner
Message 1 of 4

someone wants to take over your line

I receieved a phone call and letter from BT today saying someone wanted to take over my line.  The other party was identified as Vodafone. I said that I had never given any such instruction to either BT or Vodafone and that Vodafone is not entitled to represent to BT that I gave Vodafone any authority to speak for me or change accounts. That would be a fraud.  The bit that worried me most was that the letter from BT stated that if I did not contact BT by 17 September they would assume I intended to cancel my contract.  That is not a legally allowable assumption to make.  Silence from me does not entitle BT to cancel a contract, particularly where the process was started by an unauthorised third party, in this case Vodafone.  I am a lawyer and contract law generally does not allow third parties to interfere with contracts, and usually does not allow silence from one of the contract parties to end or alter the contract.  I bet BT did not pass that letter by its internal lawyers. Anyway, the situation has wasted a lot of my time and caused a lot of worry.  The BT staff were however very nice and said the error was at the Vodafone end, in that they inputted a wrong number in the local area phone number allocations, which they have now corrected.  But still, before accepting any such request from Vodafone, the system should require proof from the current owner that they had authorised Vodafone.

0 Ratings
3 REPLIES 3
iniltous
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 4

Re: Someone wants to take over your line