cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AlisonFC
Message 1 of 7

Access Control for BT Whole Home

I've been using BT Whole Home for a couple of months and very happy with it so far. It has solved the dead spot issues around my house.
My only bugbear is that I would like to use Access Control with it.
Is there a way to find out if this is planned anytime ever? I have a BT Hub 6.
0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
flamethrower
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 7

Re: Access Control for BT Whole Home

Hi AlisonFC

Naive question: the access controls on the HH6 don't work in conjunction with the BT Whole Home? Naively, I might expect the HH6 to be acting as a DHCP server and have the ability to access control devices, but perhaps that doesn't work. I'm curious as I don't have mesh wifi at home.

Thanks

P.

0 Ratings
Liam_
Expert
Message 3 of 7

@AlisonFC

Access control is handled in the router, or perhaps by software installed on the device, usually a PC or Laptop by whoever administrates the LAN connections.

Some routers have better implementations than others, a good router will be able to have multiple daily start/stop times set for individual devices,  they will kill the existing connection for the device and prevent it connecting again until the stop time is reached.

I gather the hubs may stop a new connection being made gut will not disconnect a devices connection when the stop time arrives.  So that may be your problem, the Hub is not stopping a pre-existing connection.

0 Ratings
AlisonFC
Message 4 of 7

@flamethrower
Thats what I would have thought but isn't the case. To use whole home it's recommended that you switch wifi off on the HH6. I left my access controls on, but now they no longer work and my kids can connect any time day or night!

@liam_expert