cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Beginner
Message 1 of 5

BT Premium Whole Home Wifi - My setup experience and experience so far

Hi all,

I wanted to come on here and give my experience so far on this device, in the hope that it might help others out and also, to see if others have experience anything similar or the same and might be able to help or advise.

Briefly, my background is 15 years in IT, although I'm no network engineer but I do have some knowledge. I'm a fan of tech and don't get phased by having issues and working towards resolving them.

I purchased these in replacement for a TP-Link Deco P9 system I had eventually got fed up with and luckily, after 6 months of owning them, Amazon have accepted them back for a full refund - the forums are littered with unhappy customers as the device doesn't quite function as it should - to cut my issue short on that one - the resolution for the issue I had was to bring the devices closer together, which, when they have a powerline backhaul and I need them to cover a larger distance, defeats the point!!

So, I bough a kit of 3+1 of these devices to ensure full coverage of the house and back garden. My internet is provided by Sky and I've got the Sky Q router and Sky Q TV throughout the house.

The setup of the first disc was so easy and quick, it was insane. The second disc was a similar experience. However, when I got to the third disc, it just wouldn't connect. I tried multiple things to fix it but nothing would work. Eventually I connected the device via ethernet directly to the Sky Q router and after about 15 minutes, it had installed a number of firmware updates and then went solid blue. The final fourth disc was the same, so i took the same path and got all discs up and running and roughly located where they were needed.