cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nikpearson
Beginner
Message 1 of 6

BT Whole Home disc connection issue. Disc connects to main unit rather than nearest/strongest

I've been using Whole Home for about 9 months. At first I had a problem with the disc placed furthest away from the main unit (plugged into Smart Hub) connecting to the main unit rather than one of the discs which was much closer. The connection to the main unit gave a poor signal (yellow light), when connected to the closest disc the signal was good (blue light).  This issue seemed to resolve itself; I'm not sure how but I had a stable MESH network for about 4 or 5 months.

A fault with my broadband connection a couple of days ago have led to  a replacement Smart Hub, some new external cabling and the DLM line profile has been reset. All seemed well but now the problem from above has returned. I have 4 discs in total: the main, and three others spread through the house and an annexe. The disc in the annexe is tending to connect to the main unit with a poor signal rather than the closest disc which gives a good signal.

Does anyone have suggestions on how to resolve this?

Many thanks in advance.

0 Ratings
5 REPLIES 5
BrunoN
BT Devices Expert
BT Devices Expert
Message 2 of 6

Re: BT Whole Home disc connection issue. Disc connects to main unit rather than nearest/strongest

Hi, do you actually see connection drops or slow speed?

If not and all is working well other than an unsightly yellow light, I suggest you just let it be. A yellow light isn't necessarily a problem; it just shows less than ideal signal strength getting to that disc. But with wi-fi, poor signal strength doesn't necessarily mean poor speed or drop outs.

If you have problems, then you could try moving the disc a bit. Sometimes even moving it a little bit on the shelf or cabinet is enough. It might be a bit of trial and error as you'll need to give it a few hours to settle.