cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Message 1 of 16

Can I ask for an upgraded HUB?

OK - I am still on the old copper line.  (I am not technical and in my 70's so.....) 

I use my Internet every day on my laptop, mobile and also download BBC Catch up on my TV -which is not directly connected to my TV.

It occurred to me that several years ago we had an engineer come to our cottage and he contacted BT and suggested they upgrade my Hub free of charge.  I think it is a Smart Hub2 - by looking on BT website.

Engineer said because our cottage has very thick walls we needed a better Hub.

My question is - my signal does keep dropping - more lately and I guess it could be because of the 'Lock down'.   I did in fact maybe naively think my speed would be better because most of the village changed over to a 'satellite' dish company and not using BT phone line.

I have been with BT for years and renewed my 18 month contract a few months ago.  So - I just wondered with improving technology do you think BT upgrade my Hub again for me FOC if I asked?

Thank you

0 Ratings
15 REPLIES 15
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 16

Re: Can I ask for an upgraded HUB?

if you actually have the SH2 then that is the newest hub available

can you check your phone line  dial 17070 option 2  should be silent and best with corded phone

enter your phone number and post results  remember to delete number  https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

can you post some hub stats by going to hub manager then advanced settings then technical log information

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Highlighted
Contributor
Message 3 of 16

GillyFB_0-1588426042607.png

I hope I have done this OK.