cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

Port Forwarding Port 443 on BT Smart Hub 2

I am trying to get Alexa working with my Synology NAS Audio Station package.

For this Synology have told me that they require Port 443 to be open on my BT Smart Hub 2 for their device.

I have tried multiple times to open this port using the BT published instructions to no avail. A Port forwarding tester - yougetsignal.com indicates that the port is closed even though I have added it to the Firewall settings for the Synology Diskstation. Any ideas would be very welcome as I cannot understand why this is not currently working as documented. I am a network novice.  BT are so far refusing to provide any telephone support for this change.

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 8

Re: Port Forwarding Port 443 on BT Smart Hub 2

1. If you are only trying to access the device within your LAN you don't need to forward any ports.

2. The port will only be open whilst the application is active.

3. You can't access your public IP address and port via your homehub wifi, you need to use 4G or a different location as the hub doesn't support NAT loopback.

4. As well as forwarding the port, turm off UPnP as it may conflict.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 8

@MyMidget78 

You do not need any ports open to the Internet, for local connections within your own LAN. As Alexa only works within your own home network, then open ports are not needed.

Open ports are only needed if you are trying to access your NAS from an external Internet address.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 4 of 8