I have just been sent a "new" Smart Hub as part of ongoing issues with my broadband. This Smart Hub was obviously not new as there were 40 odd devices under connected devices. So my questions are:
1) do BT reuse hubs from customers to other customers or have I been sent something by accident
2) if they do reuse hubs should this hub not have been wiped so that identifying information is removed under data protection?
I have 'noticed' this type of thing in the past.
A device is returned by request, is checked and found to be ok, and is reused.
The device is not wiped but really there is no security issue involved. You have an IP/Mac - so what, not much you could do with them.
Thanks David for letting me know that this does occur. I've wiped the old mac addresses now anyway so that's not an issue. Router does seem to work fine so I've got no complaints!