cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Lyn17
Beginner
Message 1 of 20

Whole home network. Help me add 3 more discs please !!

Hi. I have the whole home network with 3 discs. One disc wired by Ethernet to bt hh5 which has its wifi turned off.
I would like to add a further three discs. Can anyone help please ? I'm not technical. So it needs to be explained as if to an idiot ! Thanks in advance
0 Ratings
19 REPLIES 19
flamethrower
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 20

Re: Whole home network. Help me add 3 more discs please !!

Hi @Lyn17

Welcome to the BT Community Forums.

There was a post this morning by @ioannis saying that they had 6 discs working:

https://community.bt.com/t5/Connected-Devices-Other/Extending-my-whole-home-network/m-p/1773810/high...

It's my impression from these forums that people have felt a lot of pain trying to have more than 4 discs. There is a long thread here that is marked as a solution so maybe that can provide some pointers:

https://community.bt.com/t5/Connected-Devices-Other/Whole-Home-with-more-than-3-discs/td-p/1703818

Cheers

P.

0 Ratings
ioannis
Aspiring Contributor
Message 3 of 20

Its dead simple. First off all, uninstall the app. Its useless with anything more than 4 disks and I have found it to be more of a pain than help - it actually caused my network to crash when fiddling with it so just delete it.

Secondly get your fourth disk, plug it in the same router as the first base disk. Plug it in and wait for the light to turn blue and stop flashing. Then unplug it and power it off from the button on the back. Repeat this process for every remaining disk you have. Once done place them to their final positions and turn them on. 

You can see the disks by using the web URL which is http://mybtdevice.home and type in the admin password on the back of your main disk. There you will see all your connected disks (all 6 of them). I've found that the network stability is greatly improved by doing the following: